Cancer Support Group

Wednesday, Apr 14th

Last update:06:42:40 AM GMT

Home Cancer Leukemia Types of Leukemia

Types of Leukemia

Leukemia can be classified as either lymphoid or myeloid and as either acute or chronic.

Lymphoid and myeloid refer to the type of white cell affected. If this is a lymphocyte or lymphocyte–like cell the condition is called Lymphocytic or Lymphoblastic leukemia.

Myeloid Leukemias affect any of the types of white blood cells or the red cell or platelet producing cells.

The terms acute and chronic are often misunderstood. They refer only to the speed at which the disease progresses if it is left untreated, not to the severity of the disease. Acute leukemia comes on quickly and, if not effectively treated, will rapidly progress. Chronic leukemia is slow to develop and slow to progress, even when not treated.


This is YOUR sites, so if you have suggestions or feedback on how we can improve it for you, please let us know! We do our best to keep up!

Make a Suggestion
Manthan Award

Link to Aarogya

aarogya logo